Weekly Reads: 6.16.14 & Twitterature 6.2014

As I begin the week, I’m finishing How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster. I’m going to be packing and cleaning like mad for the next two nights, so I’ll probably still be reading it when we jump in the car on Wednesday morning. Joining me on the road trip are

The Best Creative Nonfiction, Vol. 2 Edited by Lee Gutkind

The Best Creative Nonfiction, Vol. 2
Edited by Lee Gutkind

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead 
By Sheryl Sandberg

Twin Cities Noir

Twin Cities Noir

and….

an as yet undetermined piece of fiction. Suggestions? I’m looking for something middle of the road between light and fluffy and dense and confusing.

Twitterature

It’s been a couple months, but I’m happy to return to sharing brief reviews of recent reads.

Loving Frank by Nancy Horan

Loving Frank
By Nancy Horan

Complicated, fascinating and so much more. The love affair of Frank Lloyd Wright and Mamah Borthwick reflects the architects own work and relationship with his peers.

The Gondola Maker by Laura Morelli

The Gondola Maker
By Laura Morelli

Morelli’s debut is a well-crafted story. See what I did there? It’s a gondola making pun!

People of the Book By Geraldine Brooks

People of the Book
By Geraldine Brooks

As always, Brooks has woven together a web of richly detailed and fascinating stories into one must-read novel.

What are you reading this week?

**Linked up with Book Journey**

**Linked up with Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Twitterature**

2 thoughts on “Weekly Reads: 6.16.14 & Twitterature 6.2014

  1. Hooray for road trip reading!

    I’ve recently read and enjoyed Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead, The Accident by Chris Pavone, and The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine. They would all be great fiction picks!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Ten Authors I Own The Most Books From | The 1000th Voice

Leave a comment