Journaling

I’ve kept journals on and off for as many years as I can remember. My very first journal was more of a day book, where I could write one little thing from each day. That wasn’t nearly good enough; I wanted to be much more prolific than that.

It’s fascinating to look back through them. What did I think was a big problem back then; my writing style…it’s all fascinating and a little cringeworthy.

But all the cringeing aside, I’m glad I have them. They remind me of the little details I would otherwise forget. They remind me what it was like to be 12, 14 or even 20. They remind me who I am and how I got here.

And someday when I’m famous and dead, a biographer will really be able to understand what it was like to live with my genius!

One thought on “Journaling

  1. Pingback: Book Discussion: The Accidental Creative | The 1000th Voice

Leave a comment