Poetry Friday: We Real Cool

It’s Poetry Friday!
Every third Friday of the month
I will share snippets of
 poems I love and share my thoughts!
See previous Poetry Friday posts here.

We Real Cool by Gwendolyn Brooks

I thought this poem would be perfect as we approach high school graduations. As seniors prepare to take the last steps through their high school career, there’s a tendency to think “We real cool.” There’s a sense of bravado, of immortality. In addition to that interpretation of immortality, the poem can be read in a mocking tone that I think can be appropriate if applied to the example of seniors. Plenty of people, particularly those who have just recently made the jump from high school look down on those seniors with derision, but in reality most of us were in that same position when we were in high school.

There’s no one who can read this poem better than Brooks does herself. Enjoy!

What do you think of Brooks’ poem?

To read more of my thoughts, follow me on Twitter. For more book reviews, books I’ve read and books I want to read, find me on Goodreads. Don’t forget to check out my Pinterest to see all the craft and home decor projects I’ll probably never do and some cool book and social media pins. And of course, If you like what I have to say, like or follow my blog through e-mail. Sign up is on the right!

Leave a comment