Book Review: Holidays on Ice

HumorousHolidaysBadge

Finding holiday books that aren’t too preachy is a hard task. It really is. So in my search for a good holiday book, I decided that I would read humorous books this year. I chose Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris and The Onion Presents: Christmas Exposed.

Holidays on Ice, a collection of new and previously published essays and short stories, is funny, but not nearly Sedaris’ best work. I found myself laughing at Santaland Diaries, which I’d never read before. Dinah the Christmas Whore and 6 to 8 Black Men had me nodding in recognition and laughing all over again. But other than those three, this just wasn’t the greatest collection of his work.

I would imagine that someone as quirky as David would have some better holiday stories to tell. After all, I think the holidays are ripe with humorous opportunities, but this book just doesn’t show that. I will honestly say that I found it disappointing, which is really only because I have such high expectations for Sedaris.

I wouldn’t recommend this book. Instead, I’d recommend Me Talk Pretty One Day or When You Are Engulfed in Flames.

Do you have a favorite humorous book (holiday or other)? Do you have any funny holiday stories?

One thought on “Book Review: Holidays on Ice

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Onion Presents: Christmas Exposed | The 1000th Voice

Leave a Reply

